When I first went to the travel clinic in preparation for my journey, I was warned to protect myself against a number of mosquito-born illnesses for which there are neither vaccines nor treatments. A few days later, the rest of the world caught wind of the perils of one of these viruses in particular – Zika.

There are very few cases of Zika (they refer to it as ‘Zik V’ here) in Jamaica so far, but with the presence of the Aedes Aegypti mosquito throughout the island, it seems inevitable that the number of people with the virus will rise.

The Jamaican Ministry of Health has done an incredible job of raising awareness and communicating to citizens about how to reduce the presence of mosquitoes and protect themselves against bites (and hopefully infection).  I was impressed to see a notice at my apartment complex from the Ministry when I first arrived, and the Y has posters on display to pass along info to clients.

My favourite message so far is a public service announcement that played before the movie at the cinema last week.  It features Dr. Michael Abrahams, a local OB/GYN. I hope you love it as much as I do!

