I’ve briefly mentioned Marlon James’ A Brief History of Seven Killings, which received much attention last year when James became the first Jamaican to win the Man Booker Award, but that isn’t the only critically acclaimed novel as of late to be written by a Jamaican and set in Jamaica. Nicole Dennis-Benn’s novel Here Comes the Sun has also garnered much attention in large part due to its raw, visceral portrayal of the realities of life in Jamaica.

I heard Dennis-Benn interviewed on the BBC World Service programme ‘The Cultural Frontline’ about the book, life in Jamaica, and why young people in Jamaica bleach their skin. I haven’t dug into her novel yet (I’m currently reading some quality Canadian content instead), but I think it would be a great read for someone who wanted to understand what Jamaica is really like, beyond the beaches and resorts. If you read it, let me know what you think!

